American SodaSlim authorized shop One capsule a day · 30 per bottle 60-day money-back guarantee +1 (302) 200-3480

SodaSlim Official Website › Metabolism Supplement Guide

Metabolism Supplement Guide

The Metabolism Supplement Guide: What Each Ingredient Was Tested At

Five compounds account for most of the metabolism supplement category.

Caffeine, chlorogenic acid from green coffee, catechins from green tea, hydroxycitric acid from garcinia, and raspberry ketone. This guide sets out what each is proposed to do, what the published trials gave people, and what those trials found.

Nothing in this guide is about any one product. Every amount quoted belongs to a published trial and is linked to the record it came from.

The principle

Why the amount matters more than the name

The single most useful habit a reader can develop in this category is to treat an ingredient name as a question rather than an answer. Green tea extract is not one thing: it is a family of preparations that differ by an order of magnitude in catechin content, and the trials that found something used amounts at the top of that range.

That is why every section below leads with a number. A formula containing an ingredient at a tenth of its trial amount is not a weaker version of the trial; it is an untested preparation that borrows the trial's reputation. And a formula that prints no amount at all cannot be placed on that scale in either direction, which is a different problem and a more common one.

Work on supplement databases built from label information makes the general point: a label is a claim about a product rather than a measurement of one, and everything downstream inherits that limit.

Three questions to ask of any ingredient
  • What amount did the trials use, and over how many weeks?
  • What part of the plant, and standardised to what?
  • Was the trial in people, or in animals or cells?
Ingredient one

Caffeine: the one that works, and the ceiling on it

Caffeine is the best-supported compound in the whole category and the evidence is not close. It blocks adenosine receptors, which produces alertness, and it raises resting energy expenditure, which is the part that puts it in a weight supplement.

A dose-response meta-analysis of thirteen randomised trials in 606 people found that doubling caffeine intake was associated with roughly a fifth more reduction in weight, body mass index and fat mass. A double-blind crossover trial used 5 mg per kilogram of body weight a day, which is around 400 mg for an average adult, and measured total energy expenditure over days rather than in a laboratory hour.

The ceiling is the part a buying guide has to be clear about. The review behind the commonly quoted 400 mg a day figure for healthy adults treats it as a total from every source: coffee, tea, cola, energy drinks and supplements together. A supplement that does not state its caffeine content cannot be entered into that arithmetic, which makes it a problem for exactly the people most likely to be doing the arithmetic.

Tolerance is the second thing to know. The thermogenic response is smaller in a habitual coffee drinker than in somebody who drinks none, which means the people most likely to buy a stimulant supplement are the people it will do least for.

What the trials usedWhat they foundPractical note
5 mg/kg/day, around 400 mg for an average adultHigher total energy expenditure, measured over daysThat is about four strong coffees, from all sources combined
Doubling of habitual intake, across 13 RCTsAbout 20 per cent more reduction in weight, BMI and fat massA relative figure. Doubling an unknown is still unknown
Up to 400 mg/day in healthy adultsThe commonly cited upper figure for safetyA total, not a per-product allowance

Sources linked in the paragraphs above and listed in full at the foot of this page.

Ingredient two

Chlorogenic acid: a modest result attached to a number

Chlorogenic acid is the compound green coffee bean extract is standardised for, and unroasted beans are used because roasting destroys much of it. The proposal is that it slows intestinal glucose absorption, flattening the rise in blood sugar after a meal.

A 2023 systematic review and meta-analysis pooled three randomised trials, 103 people in total, of extract carrying at least 500 mg of chlorogenic acid a day, and found a mean reduction of 1.3 kg with no heterogeneity and no evidence of publication bias. A separate eight-week trial used 400 mg a day of the extract alongside an energy-restricted diet.

This ingredient also carries the category's clearest lesson about publicity. The 2012 crossover study that made green coffee famous reported 8 kg of loss in 16 people at 700 and 1,050 mg, was promoted heavily on daytime television, and was retracted by its journal in 2014. PubMed still returns it with the publication type Retracted Publication. Almost every dramatic claim made for this ingredient traces back to it.

What survives is smaller and worth having. A review of the blood-pressure claim and a meta-analysis of cardiovascular risk markers both report measurable effects on risk factors. The mouse study the story began with remains a mouse study.

The practical reading: 500 mg a day of chlorogenic acid is the figure to hold any green coffee product against, and a product that does not state its chlorogenic acid content cannot be held against it.

Ingredient three

Green tea catechins: two reviews that disagree

Catechins, chiefly epigallocatechin gallate, are proposed to raise energy expenditure, usually in combination with caffeine. The evidence divides neatly into two camps and it is worth seeing both.

A meta-analysis of catechin and caffeine mixtures found a mean reduction of 1.31 kg, with the effect blunted in people already taking more than 300 mg of caffeine a day. A crossover trial giving 611 mg of catechins with 88 mg of caffeine measured a small but statistically significant rise in energy expenditure after two weeks of daily intake.

The Cochrane review is less impressed. Pooling six trials conducted outside Japan in 532 people, it found a mean difference of 0.04 kg and concluded that green tea preparations produce a small, statistically non-significant loss unlikely to be clinically important. A 2024 meta-analysis examined whether catechins add anything to exercise training.

The safety side is the part most buying guides skip. A systematic safety review proposed an intake level of 338 mg of EGCG a day taken as a solid bolus dose, with an observed safe level of 704 mg, and a randomised trial at 843 mg a day for six to nine months looked directly at liver enzymes. Brewed tea is not the concern; concentrated extract in large single doses is. An analysis of commercial green tea supplements found wide variation between label claim and measured catechin content.

The practical reading: the interesting range for catechins is roughly 600 mg a day, the safety conversation begins somewhere above 338 mg of EGCG as a bolus, and a product printing neither number leaves a buyer on both sides of that without a figure.

Ingredient four

Hydroxycitric acid: clean mechanism, disappointing trials

Hydroxycitric acid, from the rind of Garcinia cambogia, competitively inhibits ATP-citrate lyase, the enzyme that starts the conversion of carbohydrate into fat. It is also widely sold for appetite suppression.

The best-known trial ran twelve weeks in 135 overweight adults, everyone on a high-fibre, low-energy diet, with 1,500 mg of hydroxycitric acid a day against placebo. Both arms lost weight. Neither weight nor fat mass separated the two to statistical significance.

A 2020 dose-response meta-analysis of eight trials in 530 people found a pooled reduction of 1.34 kg, which is a genuine positive on a modest scale. The main safety overview of the standardised extract was written by authors with a commercial interest, which is worth knowing when weighing its conclusions.

Garcinia is also the ingredient most often named in this category's liver literature. A systematic review of herb-induced liver injury and a review of supplement-related liver injury both discuss weight-loss products containing it, generally at amounts far above a once-daily capsule.

The practical reading: 1,500 mg a day is the figure the literature is attached to, and the largest single trial at that amount found nothing.

Ingredient five

Raspberry ketone: the one with no human trial

This is where a buying guide has to be blunt. There is no randomised controlled trial of raspberry ketone for body weight in people. Searching the literature returns reviews, cell work and animal studies, and that is the whole of it.

A 2022 review and a 2021 pharmacological review both describe plausible metabolic activity and both note the absence of clinical data. A 2017 study in 3T3-L1 cells and ovariectomised rats found reduced lipid accumulation through an autophagy mechanism.

The most informative study is the one that failed. A mouse trial on a high-fat diet compared the compound at 0.25 and 1.74 per cent of the diet by weight against a pair-fed group eating the same amount of food, and found no reduction in adiposity beyond the effect of the reduced intake the compound caused. What looked like fat loss was the animals eating less.

The compound occurs in raspberries at a few parts per million, so any amount in a supplement is made synthetically. That is not a criticism; it is a fact worth knowing before paying for the word raspberry.

How to read a product that leads with this ingredient

As marketing. A formula containing raspberry ketone alongside four better-supported compounds is an ordinary formula. A page that puts raspberry ketone at the top of its argument is selling the one thing in the bottle with no human evidence behind it.

The whole picture

What the category looks like when all five are put together

Taken as a whole the picture is consistent and it is modest. The pooled effects in this category cluster around one to one and a half kilograms over trials lasting weeks to months, in people who were also changing something else. A 2021 systematic review of dietary supplements and alternative therapies for weight loss reached the same conclusion across the field.

That is not nothing and it is not what the category advertises. A product promising a transformation is promising something no ingredient on this list has produced in a controlled trial, and the one study that did report a transformation was retracted.

The second thing the whole picture shows is where the risk sits. Emergency department surveillance across the United States found weight-loss products over-represented among supplement-related visits, driven largely by stimulant effects in younger adults. The risk in this category is concentrated in the ingredient that also has the best evidence, which is an uncomfortable combination and the reason a stated caffeine content matters so much.

The eight-point checklist for judging an individual bottle is in the companion guide: choosing a metabolism supplement.

About this review

Every source cited in this guide

  1. Tabrizi R, Saneei P, Lankarani KB, et al. The effects of caffeine intake on weight loss: a systematic review and dose-response meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Crit Rev Food Sci Nutr. 2019;59(16):2688-2696. PMID 30335479. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30335479/
  2. Júdice PB, Matias CN, Santos DA, et al. Caffeine intake, short bouts of physical activity, and energy expenditure: a double-blind randomized crossover trial. PLoS One. 2013;8(7):e68936. PMID 23869233. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23869233/
  3. Nawrot P, Jordan S, Eastwood J, et al. Effects of caffeine on human health. Food Addit Contam. 2003;20(1):1-30. PMID 12519715. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/12519715/
  4. Kanchanasurakit S, Saokaew S, Phisalprapa P, et al. Chlorogenic acid in green bean coffee on body weight: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Syst Rev. 2023;12(1):163. PMID 37710316. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37710316/
  5. Haidari F, Samadi M, Mohammadshahi M, et al. Energy restriction combined with green coffee bean extract affects serum adipocytokines and the body composition in obese women. Asia Pac J Clin Nutr. 2017;26(6):1048-1054. PMID 28917230. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28917230/
  6. Vinson JA, Burnham BR, Nagendran MV. Randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, linear dose, crossover study to evaluate the efficacy and safety of a green coffee bean extract in overweight subjects. Diabetes Metab Syndr Obes. 2012;5:21-7. RETRACTED; retraction published Diabetes Metab Syndr Obes. 2014;7:467. PMID 22291473. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22291473/
  7. Pourmasoumi M, Hadi A, Marx W, et al. The effect of green coffee bean extract on cardiovascular risk factors: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Adv Exp Med Biol. 2021;1328:323-345. PMID 34981487. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34981487/
  8. Loader TB, Taylor CG, Zahradka P, et al. Chlorogenic acid from coffee beans: evaluating the evidence for a blood pressure-regulating health claim. Nutr Rev. 2017;75(2):114-133. PMID 28130503. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28130503/
  9. Shimoda H, Seki E, Aitani M. Inhibitory effect of green coffee bean extract on fat accumulation and body weight gain in mice. BMC Complement Altern Med. 2006;6:9. PMID 16545124. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16545124/
  10. Hursel R, Viechtbauer W, Westerterp-Plantenga MS. The effects of green tea on weight loss and weight maintenance: a meta-analysis. Int J Obes (Lond). 2009;33(9):956-61. PMID 19597519. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/19597519/
  11. Katada S, Yanagimoto A, Matsui Y, et al. Effect of tea catechins with caffeine on energy expenditure in middle-aged men and women: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, crossover trial. Eur J Nutr. 2020;59(3):1163-1170. PMID 31062079. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31062079/
  12. Jurgens TM, Whelan AM, Killian L, et al. Green tea for weight loss and weight maintenance in overweight or obese adults. Cochrane Database Syst Rev. 2012;12(12):CD008650. PMID 23235664. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23235664/
  13. Gholami F, Antonio J, Iranpour M, et al. Does green tea catechin enhance weight-loss effect of exercise training in overweight and obese individuals? A systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized trials. J Int Soc Sports Nutr. 2024;21(1):2411029. PMID 39350601. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39350601/
  14. Hu J, Webster D, Cao J, et al. The safety of green tea and green tea extract consumption in adults - results of a systematic review. Regul Toxicol Pharmacol. 2018;95:412-433. PMID 29580974. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29580974/
  15. Acosta L, Byham-Gray L, Kurzer M, et al. Hepatotoxicity with high-dose green tea extract: effect of catechol-O-methyltransferase and uridine 5'-diphospho-glucuronosyltransferase 1A4 genotypes. J Diet Suppl. 2023;20(6):850-869. PMID 36178169. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36178169/
  16. Abourashed EA, Roberson CL, Elsharkawy N. Content variation of catechin markers, total phenolics and caffeine in green tea dietary supplements. J Diet Suppl. 2016;13(2):171-84. PMID 25299974. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25299974/
  17. Heymsfield SB, Allison DB, Vasselli JR, et al. Garcinia cambogia (hydroxycitric acid) as a potential antiobesity agent: a randomized controlled trial. JAMA. 1998;280(18):1596-600. PMID 9820262. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/9820262/
  18. Golzarand M, Omidian M, Toolabi K. Effect of Garcinia cambogia supplement on obesity indices: a systematic review and dose-response meta-analysis. Complement Ther Med. 2020;52:102451. PMID 32951714. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32951714/
  19. Preuss HG, Rao CV, Garis R, et al. An overview of the safety and efficacy of a novel, natural (-)-hydroxycitric acid extract (HCA-SX) for weight management. J Med. 2004;35(1-6):33-48. PMID 18084863. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18084863/
  20. Ballotin VR, Bigarella LG, Brandão ABM, et al. Herb-induced liver injury: systematic review and meta-analysis. World J Clin Cases. 2021;9(20):5490-5513. PMID 34307603. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34307603/
  21. Navarro VJ, Khan I, Björnsson E, et al. Liver injury from herbal and dietary supplements. Hepatology. 2017;65(1):363-373. PMID 27677775. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/27677775/
  22. Li X, Wei T, Wu M, et al. Potential metabolic activities of raspberry ketone. J Food Biochem. 2022;46(1):e14018. PMID 34913499. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34913499/
  23. Rao S, Kurakula M, Mamidipalli N, et al. Pharmacological exploration of phenolic compound: raspberry ketone - update 2020. Plants (Basel). 2021;10(7):1323. PMID 34209554. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34209554/
  24. Leu SY, Chen YC, Tsai YC, et al. Raspberry ketone reduced lipid accumulation in 3T3-L1 cells and ovariectomy-induced obesity in Wistar rats by regulating autophagy mechanisms. J Agric Food Chem. 2017;65(50):10907-10914. PMID 29164883. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/29164883/
  25. Cotten BM, Diamond SA, Banh T, et al. Raspberry ketone fails to reduce adiposity beyond decreasing food intake in C57BL/6 mice fed a high-fat diet. Food Funct. 2017;8(4):1512-1518. PMID 28378858. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28378858/
  26. Batsis JA, Apolzan JW, Bagley PJ, et al. A systematic review of dietary supplements and alternative therapies for weight loss. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2021;29(7):1102-1113. PMID 34159755. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34159755/
  27. Geller AI, Shehab N, Weidle NJ, et al. Emergency department visits for adverse events related to dietary supplements. N Engl J Med. 2015;373(16):1531-40. PMID 26465986. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26465986/
  28. Saldanha LG, Dwyer JT, Bailen RA, et al. Characteristics and challenges of dietary supplement databases derived from label information. J Nutr. 2018;148(suppl_2):1422S-1427S. PMID 31505680. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31505680/
60-day money-back guarantee

Two months, and the seller asks for thirty days of use before you judge it

That request is on the seller’s own page and it is a fair one: buyers on this desk who kept going past week two are the ones who reordered. The window runs 60 days, counted from the day you paid. One telephone call to the number below starts it, provided the order identifier is in front of you, and the refund policy page sets out the rest.

Order SodaSlim On The Official Website

Lot SOD-26/SO-4211 · from $49 a bottle · read the guarantee first

The 60-day money-back guarantee roundel
SodaSlim · one capsule a day $49 a bottle on the six-pack · 60-day money-back guarantee
Add To Cart